Understanding Property Revaluation

Revaluation is the process of reappraising all properties within a county for tax assessment purposes. It is required by law at least once every eight years in North Carolina and once every five years in South Carolina. The process has two objectives: value properties at current market prices, and equitably distribute the cost of local government among the property owners.

Revenues used to fund schools, police, fire protection, libraries, parks and other public services are derived from the tax rate applied to the estimated market value of your property. Over time, the real estate market changes - up or down, depending on location and other factors. As time elapses, the assessed values of some properties are further from true market value. Such occurrences create inequities among assessments. In order for properties to be assessed equitably, reappraisals are needed to reflect the current fair market value of all properties.

A Realtor can help you understand property valuation and determine if your revaluation is equitable. A Realtor can also help you understand how your home's assessed value may impact a future sale.

SOURCE: 1 - NC Dept. of Revenue list, 2 - Franklin County Tax Assessor, 3 - Granville County website, 4 - Greenville County website, 5 - Lancaster County Tax Assessor, 6 - Oconee County website, 7 - Pickens County website, 8 - Spartanburg County website, 9 - York County website, 10 - Guilford County website

Helpful Allen Tate Tools

If you are interested in receiving Market Report, a free monthly e-mail that summarizes for sale and sold properties in your neighborhood and market trends, click here.

If you would like to receive a free Comparative Market Analysis to help you understand the specific value of your home, click here to contact an Allen Tate Realtor who specializes in your neighborhood.

If you would like immediate information about sold properties in your neighborhood, interact with our exclusive TateMap tool. Enter your address in the slide-out screen to the left and click the "star" button. All recent sales are represented by gray pushpins. Simply hover over the push pin, then click "View Details" to see property data for each sold home.

Click here for TateMap.

Counties Currently in Revaluation

Catawba County info

Davidson County info

Gaston County info

Guilford County info

Iredell County info

Johnston County info

Lancaster County info

Randolph County info

Rockingham County info

Mecklenburg County

The last reappraisal in Mecklenburg County was 2003. A revaluation is required in 2011 for compliance with NC state statutes.

Average Price Information by Area

To view statistics on each Multiple Listing Service (MLS) area in Mecklenburg County, click any of the area links below for a seven-year average sale price graph. (Note: The map shown here will help you to identify the location of your property.)

North/Northeast Charlotte (Area 1)

East Charlotte (Area 2)

East/Southeast Charlotte (Area 3)

Southeast Charlotte (Area 4)

South Charlotte (Area 5)

South/Southwest Charlotte (Area 6)

Southwest Charlotte (Area 7)

West Charlotte (Area 8)

North/Northwest Charlotte (Area 9)

Lake Norman (Area 13)

Lake Wylie (Area 15)

Mtn. Island Lake (Area 42)

Center City Charlotte (Area 99)


Mecklenburg County Tax Assessors office

Frequently Asked Questions - Assessor's Office

News Articles from Charlotte Observer

Mecklenburg County Real Estate Lookup

Mecklenburg County Tax Bill Lookup

Call us Toll Free.
         Share this page
Bookmark to: Twitter Bookmark to: Facebook Bookmark to: Del.icio.us Bookmark to: Digg
Bookmark to: Google Bookmark to: Yahoo Bookmark to: Diigo